Taking the plunge?

I have four novels published only in e-book format and I don’t own an e-reader. In fact, up until a few days ago, I was completely sure I didn’t want one. Crazy, right?
I am one of those people who loves the smell of books — when I walk through the library, I keep taking deep breaths to inhale the awesome smell of ink on pages. I like the weight of a book in my hands. I enjoy watching my progress as my bookmark moves closer and closer to the end.
I also am not particularly tech-savvy. I like my texting phone and have no interest in a smart phone. My husband thinks I’m just being a cheapskate. But the truth is that someone could give me one for free and offer to cover my data plan for life and I still wouldn’t want it. I hate trying to navigate the ‘net on that little screen.
So no one was more shocked than me when the idea of purchasing an e-reader began to take shape. I was at the dentist earlier this week and he was raving over his e-reader, talking about how it compared to his iPad and what he liked about each. Something about his assessment appealed to me. I had lugged in my thick book but his e-reader would fit in my purse and hold hundreds of books. Plus, I see so many cool indie books online that also only come in e-book format. And so many of my friends swear by their e-readers.
Hmmm….
Now I’m doing some research and assessing whether or not I really will take the plunge. And, if I do, whether my purchase should be a true e-reader or a tablet with an e-reading app. Any advice for this newbie?

7 thoughts on “Taking the plunge?

  1. I have an (old) Aluratek Libre, no wifi, no movies, no color, it does play mp3s– and will do so while you read. I reassigned(stole) a memory card from the camera and can carry hundreds of books, including four complete Bibles. I couldn’t be happier. You don’t want to know what I paid for it. You might want more, but I chose to avoid all the distracting extras.

    • Interesting…. I don’t think I’ve heard of a Libre. I think part of my indecision (and this is the mom in me) is that I know my tablet will be commandeered by my kids from time to time and that can be helpful on long car rides. On the other hand, that could be an even better reason to stick with the basics! Thanks for sharing!

  2. I’m am also a bibliophile that had a hard time justifying moving into the world of e-readers. But hubby got me an Amazon Kindle three years ago and I’ve never looked back. I love the ease and accessibility. It’s the Amazon Keyboard and uses the e-ink technology. I really prefer the black and white e-readers that use e-ink because they come closest (IMHO) to the ink on page experience. Also, I’m not fond of the tablet format because of eye strain issues. Based on they “whys” behind your reluctance to “take the plunge,” my recommendation would be to get one of the simpler e-readers rather than a color version or a tablet. Happy reading! Oh, and I am waiting with baited breath for the next installment of the Emily O’Brien mystery series!

    • Thank you, Susan. I’ve had so many of my friends say the same thing about their e-readers. I actually (and kind of sadly) have still been waffling on this since I’ve been spending more time writing than reading. Thanks for reading!

  3. As a public librarian, taking this plunge was hard for me as well. I felt like I was “cheating” on my faithful friend, the printed page. But the more my customers asked for assistance with their devices, the more I knew I’d better get my butt in gear and start learning. We were able to purchase a Sony Reader, a Nook Color, a Kindle, a Kindle Fire and Kindle Paperwhite (in that order). And out of them all, I am sold on the Kindle Fire and Paperwhite. The Whisper Net function makes all the difference. With a Amazon account and a WiFi connection, your books just “appear”, almost like magic. ๐Ÿ˜‰ There are no hooking up USB cords, like with the other products. The Kindle Fire is geared more for people who want a tablet experience. They are backlit, like a computer. The Kindle Fire is hard on my eyes. Therefore, the Paperwhite is my favorite for reading. While backlit, it looks like a black and white printed page. It is not meant for tablet-type functions. I am not familiar with the Ipad yet.

    And I always have a “regular” book going as well ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope this helps a little. Thanks!

    • I had been looking at a Kindle when I found a smoking hot deal on a Dell tablet so that’s what I bought. In the end, it was a good fit since my son and my husband use it also. I did read my first ebook on it! I didn’t have any trouble with the way the screen was lit; however I rarely get long spans of time to read. Mostly, I have to read in fits and starts. I’ve downloaded some other ebooks … but I had several books I’d been waiting to read come in at the library so I haven’t abandoned my “regular” books either.

      Thanks all for the advice. Happy reading!

      • Yay! I’m glad you took the plunge…I know what you mean about not having time to read for pleasure. I just got in some new releases today, but no time to read them…:-(

Leave a Reply

