Free is good…

I would love to pretend that it was all part of my plan. But really, it was just a big flub on my part that ended up working out very well for me. That hardly ever happens so I’m kind of enjoying it.

So what did I do? I accidentally made my first two ebooks free on Amazon. When I published “Foul Play,” I decided to make all three of my books free on Smashwords for a few days so friends and family could download them. I didn’t think about the fact that Smashwords would send the price to Barnes and Noble, and I didn’t know that Amazon would match the B&N price.

So I was horrified when I checked on the status of “Foul Play” a few days after I had uploaded that to Kindle Direct Publishing (I use both Smashwords and KDP) and saw that “Vengeance is Mine” and “Buried Truth” were now free. I’m still fairly new to the world of ebook publishing and there is a lot I don’t know. Obviously. I didn’t even know I could make my books free on Amazon.

But it ended up being a huge blessing! It has been fun to see thousands of downloads of my books and a few reviews, and even better I had some readers say hi to me on Goodreads, where I had also posted my books. I wish all of my goofs turned out this well. 

The books are still free on Amazon and B&N. I have no idea how long that will last but feel free to take advantage of my mistake. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Free is good…

  1. I found your books when I looked for free books for my Kindle. I read the first two that were free and purchased the third. I finished all three within a week!!! I have enjoyed them very much. I can’t wait for Flesh and Blood to be released.

    • Thank you! I’ve really loved writing the books so it’s great to hear someone enjoys reading them. I’m in the early stages of editing Flesh and Blood. I’ll post when it’s done.

  2. I truly enjoy your Emily O’Brien Series…looking forward to the next one. I like how you are not churchy/preachy, rather your character is honest and real–a work in progress –as are we all. Please let me know when the next one is ready 😀
    Thanks so much!
    Mary

  3. I never would have read and fallen in like with Emily had you not made the books free. I liked her so much that I came to your site which I rarely do. I enjoy your books layout. It’s the first that I have read where the flashbacks stop at a certain point in the story and I have really enjoyed it. As soon as I can afford it, I will be buying Foul Play and hopefully any others that follow.

  4. OMG….I have loved all three titles. I just couldn’t pout it down. When can I get Flesh and Blood? I hope you can email me. Thanks for getting back into enjoying reading.

    • Thank you, Beverly! I’m still working on editing Flesh and Blood but will definitely be getting the word out once it’s ready, including an email if you’d like. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

